2021 Race Schedule

Fantastic events in the best parks in Northern Virginia and Maryland
Home » Race Schedule

2021 Races

The safety and health of all racers and volunteers, and our larger local community, are of upmost importance.  While all risk cannot be eliminated, all in-person races will have extensive risk mitigation protocols in place.  Each race has its own venue-specific COVID operations plan, which can be found on each race website.  In addition, most events also have a virtual option.

January 1-31, 2021
Backyard BRRR Virtual Challenge
Virtual Challenge – Various Distances

March 28, 2021 (Sun)
Spring Backyard Burn @ Laurel Hill
Trail Running – 5 and 10 Miles

April 1-30, 2021
Spring Backyard Burn Virtual Challenge
Virtual Challenge – Walking, Running, Multi-Sport

April 11, 2021 (Sun)
Spring Backyard Burn @ Lake Fairfax
Trail Running – 5 and 10 Miles

April 25, 2021 (Sun)
Spring Backyard Burn @ Fountainhead
Trail Running – 5 and 10 Miles

May 2, 2021 (Sun)
Rails to River XC (MTB) @ Lake Fairfax
Mountain Biking – 7, 14, 21 Miles

May 22+23, 2021 (Sat+Sun)
Fountainhead Half Marathon/10K
Trail Running – Half Marathon and 10K

June 13, 2021 (Sun)
Loudoun 1725 Gravel Grinder
Cycling – 40, 60, 80 Miles

June 26, 2021 (Sat)
Blue Crab Bolt @ Seneca Creek
Trail Running – 5 and 10K

July 1 – August 15
Blue Crab Bolt Virtual Challenge
Virtual Challenge

July 11, 2021 (Sun)
XTERRA EX2 @ Rocky Gap
Triathlon, Duathlon, Relay

July 24, 2021 (Sat)
Blue Crab Bolt @ Schaeffer Farms
Trail Running – 5 and 10K

August 7, 2021 (Sat)
Blue Crab Bolt @ Little Bennett
Trail Running – 5 and 10K

September 18, 2021 (Sat)
VentureQuest Adventure Race @ Fountainhead (12-hour)
Adventure Race – 12 Hours

September 19, 2021
VentureQuest Adventure Race @ Fountainhead (6-hour)
Adventure Race – 6 Hours

October 3, 2021 (Sun)
Fall Backyard Burn @ Pohick Bay
Trail Running – 5 and 10 Miles

October 17, 2021 (Sun)
Fall Backyard Burn @ Lake Fairfax
Trail Running – 5 and 10 Miles

October 30, 2021 (Sat)
Schaeffer Half Marathon/10K
Trail Running – Half Marathon and 10K

November 7, 2021 (Sun)
Fall Backyard Burn @ Riverbend
Trail Running – 5 and 10 Miles

November 21, 2021 (Sun)
Fall Backyard Burn @ Hemlock
Trail Running – 5 and 10 Miles

Sponsors